Wednesday, May 27, 2009

2009 CJA Awards

I suddenly remembered today that June 1 is the postmark deadline for submissions to the Chess Journalists of America's annual awards. This year they have simplified the "best blog" category by simply inviting all websites and then they will sort them based on genre:
9. Best Chess Website: Open to news sites, “blogs,” state websites, and so on. Special award given to the best example of each type of website.
I'll be entering a few of my favorite blogs, so let me know if you plan on submitting yourself.



Blogger Howard Goldowsky said...

I'm glad to see that they've finally trimmed the number of categories, something I've editorialized about extensively. That said, the awards still have a long way to go before they become prestigious. There is a "Mainstream" category, but none of the mainstream magazines know or care about the award, and no mainstream journalist would be caught dead self-nominating his work. Maybe now that they've trimmed the number of categories, they can start rewarding small cash prizes. That might up the prestige. For as long as the CJA awards have been in existence, winning one has been like winning the Class-C section of an open tournament. Have you seen the uneven quality of some of the past winners?

Howard Goldowsky

Wed May 27, 10:09:00 AM EDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home